GFSI Recognized Certification Schemes

WQS-QIMA is accredited to conduct audits for members of the food supply chain seeking certification under a number of GFSI recognized international schemes, including BRCGS, SQF, PrimusGFS, IFS, and GlobalG.A.P.

GFSI Recognized Certification Schemes

The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) was established in 2000, bringing together stakeholders of the global food industry to collaborate on advancing food safety. Today, a number of food safety programs, standards and initiatives are recognized by the GFSI as meeting the requirements of its Benchmarking Rebscquirements. While the GFSI itself is not a certification program and does not carry out any accreditation or certification activities, GFSI recognition lends authority to the respective schemes, acting as a “food safety passport” in the global marketplace.

WQS-QIMA is accredited to conduct audits for members of the food supply chain seeking certification under a number of GFSI recognized international schemes, including BRCGS, SQF, PrimusGFS, IFS, and GlobalG.A.P. Certification to a program recognized by the GFSI (Global Food Safety Initiative) is seen as a stamp of approval and a signal of strong food safety standards.

SQF – Safe Quality Food Program

Recognized by retailers and foodservice providers around the world who require a rigorous, credible food safety management system, SQF is the only GFSI recognized scheme to integrate a quality component as well as food safety. The program links primary production certification to food manufacturing, distribution and agent/broker management certification. Using the SQF certification program will help reduce assessment inconsistencies and costs of multiple assessment standards.

SQF encompasses:

  • SQF Quality Code (not GFSI approved)
  • SQF Food Safety Fundamentals (not GFSI approved)
  • SQF Food Safety Code for Food Retail
  • SQF Food Safety Code for Manufacturing
  • SQF Food Safety Code for Primary Production
  • SQF Food Safety Code for Manufacturing of Food Packaging
  • SQF Food Safety Code for Storage and Distribution

BRC Global Standards

BRCGS is a scheme designed to harmonize food safety standards across the supply chain. This scheme is focused on building trust and confidence throughout the supply chain.

The BRCGS includes:

  • BRC Global Standard for Food
    • developed by food industry experts
    • used in the food and food ingredient manufacturing, processing and packing industry
    • provides a framework to manage product safety, integrity, legality and quality
  • BRC Global Standard for Storage & Distribution
    • essential certification link between the range of BRC Global Standards manufacturing standards and the end user, such as the retailer or the food service company
  • BRC Global Standard for Packaging and Packaging Materials
    • can be used by any manufacturer producing packaging materials for all types of products (incl. non-food)
  • BRC Global Standard START!
    • a program aligned with the GFSI Global Markets programme meant for food industries making the first step towards the implementation of the BRCGS Food Standard

IFS Food Standard

The IFS Food Standard is a GFSI recognized standard for auditing food manufacturers. It is focused on processing foods and loose pack food products, or whenever there is a risk of food contamination during packing. By focusing on senior management responsibility, productive systems, managing resources, and pre-planning processes, it offers a robust system for maintaining the integrity of your product. This scheme is useful for all types of food product manufacturing, especially regarding compliance with customer requirements and specifications.

  • IFS Food
    • applies when products are “processed” or when there is a hazard for product contamination during primary packing
    • important for all food manufacturers, especially for those producing private labels
  • IFS Global Markets
    • a program meant to support “small and/or less developed businesses” in the development of their food safety management systems and making the first step towards the implementation of the IFS Food Standard


PrimusGFS is a Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) recognized audit scheme for the certification of produce sector products — from growing operations to minimally-processed (fresh-cut) produce products. The scheme is endorsed by over 7,000 organizations and provides total produce supply chain coverage.

  • The PrimusGFS Standard is divided into seven modules which are applicable depending on your operation: Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS)
  • Farm (GAP)
  • Indoor Agriculture (GAP)
  • Harvest Crew (GAP)
  • Facility (GMP)
  • Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points – HACCP (GMP)
  • Preventive Control (GMP)


The GLOBALG.A.P. standard was developed to ensure consumers that food production at the farm level is carried out through the minimization of negative impacts of agricultural operations on the environment, and assurance of a responsible approach to the health and safety-related matters of the employees, and animal health.

  • Global GAP Grasp
    • Complements GlobalG.A.P. with social aspects, helping producers establish a good social management system on their farms.
  • Global GAP IFA Fruits and Vegetable
    • Covers all stages of production, from pre-harvest activities to post-harvest produce handling, packing and storing.
  • Global GAP CFM (Compound Feed Manufacturing)
    • Defines the control points and compliance criteria for quality assurance in the production, supply and purchase of raw materials and feed ingredients for compound feed.
  • Global GAP Poultry
    • Covers stock sourcing, breeding flock, hatchery, feed and water, housed and outdoor poultry, mechanical equipment, poultry health, hygiene and pest control, handling, residue monitoring, emergency procedures, inspection, workers, humane slaughter of casualty poultry, dispatch and transportation.